Nominations for the 20th PLMA Awards Program in 2023

Recognizing 2022's Best Demand Response Programs, Initiatives, and Achievements
Deadline for Award Nominations: February 23, 2023  
Awards Winners to be Announced on March 28, 2023

20th PLMA AwardsPLMA is accepting nominations for the best demand response programs, initiatives, and achievements from calendar year 2022 for our 20th PLMA Award Program. This program is inclusive of North American and global participation, and does not require PLMA membership to participate. Nominations will be accepted from February 2 to 23, 2023 11:59 pm PTAwards will be presented to the winners at the 47th PLMA Conference, May 8-10, 2023, in Memphis, TN. 


Awards Overview

The 20th PLMA Awards Program, which recognizes achievements from calendar year 2022, lauds industry leaders from the U.S. and globally, who develop innovative approaches, programs, and technologies to manage energy loads with the goal of creating flexibility, mitigating price risks, and supporting the successful grid integration of DERs. 

A Focus on Catalysts to Industry Change
This sought-after industry leadership program exists to support and promote practitioner innovations that serve customers and contribute to advancing the energy transition. In recognition of PLMA’s strategic initiatives and the rapid changes currently occurring in the energy industry, this year’s Awards will also focus attention, where possible and within the three award categories, on efforts that address the following important catalysts of industry change:

  1. Using DERs as a grid resource.
  2. Advancing decarbonization through flexible load management.
  3. Enhancing diversity, equity, and inclusion.
  4. Addressing EV impacts to the grid.

About the PLMA Awards
Since 2003, PLMA has presented more than 100 awards to deserving leaders including utilities, regulators, solutions providers, and others for innovations targeted at the residential, commercial, industrial, and agricultural customer markets.  

All nominations are scored by industry peers, on a volunteer basis, against a common merit-based rubric. Oversight of the scoring process is provided by PLMA's Awards Co-Chairs who are Kevin Knight of Baltimore Gas and Electric, Peter Bergeron, of CPower, and Meg Campbell of Guidehouse. There is no cost to participate.

Click Here to Begin Your Award Nomination
lf you've already submitted,
you can manage your Nomination HERE

You must sign in with a PLMA user profile to submit a nomination.
If you do not have a user profile, create one HERE.
PLMA membership is not required to submit a nomination.

Guidance for Crafting a Great Award Nomination:

  1. The nominated initiative must have ended in 2022 so there are clear and measurable outcomes and results to report on. 

  2. A clear and substantive description of what makes the program/project you are nominating innovative in design and delivery. In what way is it transformative? Is it easily scalable and/or replicable? How does it advance flexible load management? (ie. what’s its potential industry impact?). In which award category(ies) does it fit? (Program Pacesetter, Technology Pioneer, or Industry Thought Leader). Are there some next steps underway as a result of this success of this initiative?

  3. Shorter is always preferrable – 3 or 5 paragraphs is a good length.

  4. Definitely flag the utility(ies) and other organizations/partners involved in your program/project. Be sure they are aware that they are being included in your nomination, and that they are aligned with being named publicly.

  5. You are welcome to include links as back up support, but let your narrative do the heavy lifting.

PLMA Seeks Award Nominations in the following Categories:

Award Category Recognition Recipient Categories
Program Pacesetter Innovative solutions require excellent program design and delivery. The Program Pacesetter Award seeks to recognize outstanding programs that effectively support and deliver flexible load management.

Utility or Regulator

Independent System Operator or Regional Transmission Operator

Aggregator or Marketer

Technology Pioneer Achieving the potential for peak load management can be greatly enhanced by technology. The Technology Pioneer Award seeks to recognize innovative applications of technology with demonstrated potential to scale.


Solutions Provider


Thought Leader Education, research, and outreach are key elements in any market transformation. The Thought Leader Award seeks to recognize the impact of projects, outreach campaigns, and individual contributions that have the potential to shape the energy industry's future.




  1. The recipient categories are arranged in this table adjacent to the most likely award category.
  2. As appropriate, any of the individual recipient categories can be associated with any of the three award categories.
  3. An organization may belong in more than one category.
  4. The Awards Committee may make multiple awards, or no awards, in each category annually.
  5. Before submitting a nomination, please view PLMA's Awards Program Policy at

Step-by-Step Award Program Guide

Step 1: Consider Nominating
Put forth an industry peer, partner, program, or achievement for the 20th PLMA Awards. Self-nominations are appropriate and are also encouraged. Nominations are accepted from all industry professionals. PLMA membership is not required.

Step 2: Complete Nomination Form
Deadline: Friday, February 23, 2022.

Step 3: Plan to Attend the 47th PLMA Conference
Date: May 8-10, 2023
Place: Memphis, TN  

The 47th PLMA Conference offers attendees three days of learning and networking with practitioner peers and thought leaders, and includes the 20th PLMA Awards presentation. PLMA offers complimentary conference registration to the award winners. Award-winning initiatives will have an opportunity to present their stories in webinar format from May through September, 2023. 

Presenter Policy
All award winners and presenters will be required to follow PLMA's Presenter Policy. Presenters are responsible for their own conference registration costs, travel, and hotel expenses. All presenters must comply with the PLMA Presenter Policy. Presentation materials may not include "copyright" or "confidential" marks.

Learn about PLMA's past Award Winners
(2001 to 2022)
Click Here to Begin Your Award Nomination